I’m Not Ashamed: I Prefer Technology Over Face-to-Face Interaction

25 Mar

I’ve often heard people complaining about technology and how it takes away from face-to-face interaction.  While I agree that the internet and, more specifically, social media have impacted the amount of time people spend talking in person I don’t think this is always such a bad thing.  I know the importance of having face time when it comes to clients and the value it holds for a company, but there are many times when I have been thankful for social media because it provides me with another outlet to connect with people when face-to-face interaction isn’t available.  There are several reasons why I love the internet (online shopping, celebrity gossip, Netflix), but being able to use it as a means to communicate with people I don’t always see is at the top of the list. 

E-mail trumps snail mail any day

Sending a letter via the postal service has its perks: it’s personal, rarely done, and it doesn’t take an explanation for my mother to open it.  However, it also takes several days (depending on where it’s going) to get there.  When I have news, more specifically good news, I want to share it immediately with as many people as possible.  E-mail allows me to do that and instead of having to send individual e-mails I can send it to as many people as I want and I only have to click “send” once. 

Without FB, I probably wouldn’t have a BF

I met my boyfriend in Belize.  Luckily, he isn’t from there but he also doesn’t and never has lived in the same state as I do.  Facebook was the one means in which we started getting to know each other.  We wrote long and detailed messages to one another every day and that was how we were able to stay connected and become friends.  We eventually graduated from Facebook messages onto texts, phone calls, and now webcam but without Facebook I don’t know if we would have gotten to where we are now.  Facebook has also helped me stay connected to friends and family that I hardly get to see.  Although sharing pictures and comments on the internet will never be as good as being there in person, it’s better than not having any communication at all.

Sometimes it’s just easier 

Being able to contact people through e-mail and social media is just easier sometimes than hunting them down in person or playing phone tag.  There are only 24 hours in a day and everyone is so busy it’s sometimes difficult to find a compatible time to stop and talk and that’s ok.  E-mail has made it easier to communicate with my professors, Facebook has helped me stay connected to people I care about, and technology as a whole has given me an additional medium to communicate and share information.  It’s not something we should feel guilty about as long as we do make time for those that matter.    

 Photo credit: http://www.recordeddevilery.co.uk/index.php/services/email-marketing/, http://www.idealaunch.com/blog/content/facebook-connection/, http://www.ereleases.com/prfuel/myth-social-media-expert/

15 Responses to “I’m Not Ashamed: I Prefer Technology Over Face-to-Face Interaction”

  1. marriagecoach1 March 28, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

    Tell me that you would not value a HAND WRITTEN letter over an email or an actual card rather than an email card?

    John Wilder

    • kelleyzwong March 28, 2011 at 2:39 pm #

      I love cards. For the most part I prefer birthday cards over most presents. However, most people I say happy birthday to are more like aquaintences than actual friends and for people such as them, I appreciate Facebook’s helpful reminders of everyones’ birthday. I believe there are times when handwritten letters are more important than a simple e-mail (ie: thank you letters), but I find that most things can be appropriately stated via e-mail.

  2. Matt Ulinski March 29, 2011 at 9:13 am #

    Kelley I agree, I would much prefer to shoot off a text for an answer than have a phone conversation. Its more practical to email a business then rely on mail and who has time actually meet, and talk, when we have chat and skype. electronic communication is more efficient and we need to utilize that,

    • kelleyzwong March 29, 2011 at 10:44 am #

      I think people view technology as a negative thing because we rely on it so much, but it’s hard not to when it’s so much quicker and faster. Sending an email will still get the message to the recipient and a lot faster. I know there are things that should be discussed in person, but for small things and quick messages I really believe e-mail and FB will suffice.

  3. Yinka olaito March 30, 2011 at 5:55 am #

    While technology is good, a gradual and stytematic movement to real life situation usually broadens what technology strats. At least your love life relationship has proven to be a cases study of this thought

    • kelleyzwong March 30, 2011 at 8:15 am #

      Yes, my relationship has become better because of technology and I also feel that it helps with friends and family members I don’t get to see very much. By being able to share pictures and messages via a social media site allows me to know what”s going on their lives when I’m not able to be there with them.

  4. tentblogger March 30, 2011 at 6:34 pm #

    puaha. i love this. email is my preferred method over every other communication.

    • kelleyzwong March 30, 2011 at 7:41 pm #

      E-mail is so fast and simple. I don’t see anything wrong with opting for the easiest way. Some call it lazy, I call it a time-saver.

  5. john March 30, 2011 at 7:10 pm #

    Kelley, Everyone has different styles of communication. I hear to often that one type is wrong or better than another. I really like your honest, great explanation. Joseph Myers languageofbelonging.comsaid that peoples communication styles (especially generationally) are not wrong, they are just different.

    • kelleyzwong April 6, 2011 at 8:02 pm #

      John-
      Sorry it’s taken so long to respond. I think I didn’t “post comment” when I responded last time.

      I agree that everyone has their own way of communicating and I think we’re all better off for it. We’re so fortunate to have so many methods of getting and staying in touch with our friends, families, and even people we don’t know that it would be a waste not to use them to their full benefit.

  6. varicella April 7, 2011 at 2:57 am #

    Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all of us you actually know what you’re talking about! Bookmarked. Kindly also visit my site =). We could have a link exchange agreement between us!

    • kelleyzwong April 7, 2011 at 11:23 am #

      Varicella-
      Thanks for visiting my blog! I hope you enjoy reading them! I will make sure to check your site out.

  7. Spelautomater på nätet April 11, 2011 at 8:39 am #

    I’m extremely impressed with your writing talents neatly as with the structure in your blog. Is this a paid topic or did you modify it yourself? Anyway keep up the excellent quality writing, it is uncommon to look a great weblog like this one nowadays..

    • kelleyzwong April 11, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

      Thank you so much for your kind words! All of the content on my blog is my own. No topic is paid or mandatory… Sometimes that’s what makes it so tough. It’s difficult to come up with original content, especially as a new blogger. I really hope you continue reading. I promise I’ll only get better!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Craigslist can have my items anytime « More than Words - April 21, 2011

    […] is yet another reason why technology is so amazing.  Before the internet I would have had to sell my things via yard sale and I don’t have a […]

Leave a Reply

