My Love Letter to Twitter

11 Apr

Twitter sucks. So maybe this comment was slightly premature when I thought it because after using Twitter, or being forced to use it, for the past couple months I’ve come to realize that Twitter does not in fact suck.  It’s pretty great actually.  My preconceived notions about this social media site have always been, “I don’t care what you’re doing right now. I don’t care if you’re at the airport unless you’re sitting next to Britney Spears, what you’re eating for dinner unless you’re Bobby Flay, and I definitely don’t care if your child just made a poop in their high chair unless their poop is made of gold (that one’s for Dr. Bret, or @Dr.Bret for us Twitter-ers).

I was wrong.  Twitter isn’t for writing about what you’re actually doing right now, that’s what Facebook status updates are for (kidding).  Twitter is a community of people sharing information, networking with others who have the same interests, and for connecting with people you would never have the chance to in real life.  Twitter is a great way to learn more about whatever industry you’re interested in by connecting you to those who are already in it.  By following specific people, you gain access to the best information on whatever tickles your fancy.  Instead of scouring the web for articles, all you really need to do is follow the right people and the articles or tidbits of information will come to you.

In the last three months I’ve read more articles and blogs on marketing, public relations and advertising than ever before and a majority of them have been helpful and original.  I can honestly say that every time I finishing scanning my Twitter stream I know more about my industry than before. I’m sure everyone has their own opinion about Twitter, but I formed mine before I even tried it.  Yet now I have jumped on the Twitter bandwagon and am not getting off anytime soon.

Photo credit: http://bit.ly/g3rYMp

7 Responses to “My Love Letter to Twitter”

  1. john April 11, 2011 at 6:31 pm #

    I am glad you made that discovery. It has become my one source for all the best publishing, communications, tech, gaming news and much much more. Plus I never would have found your blog without John (@tentblogger) on twitter!

    • kelleyzwong April 11, 2011 at 7:21 pm #

      Yes, I didn’t know I was missing out on so much because I was too busy Facebooking. It’s such a great way to find interesting articles and blogs. I have to restrain myself from spending too much time going through my stream because so many people share really good content. Thanks so much for reading!

  2. Jeremy April 11, 2011 at 7:05 pm #

    Nice! I wrote something like this a few months ago and I’ve pretty much wound up with the same perspective: It’s a great tool to connect with people through. And like John (@johnflurry), I would have never found your post had I not found him on Twitter, which was only possible because of a high school friend on Twitter (@Janelle_Iverson). And so the connections continue…

    Anyhow, here’s the post I had written a few months ago: http://cushmanschronicles.com/2010/11/06/entering-the-twitter-world/

    Thanks for your thoughts!

    • kelleyzwong April 11, 2011 at 7:26 pm #

      Jeremy-
      One aspect that really stands out with Twitter, unlike other social media sites, is that it really does connect you to people. Not just as an outsider or a fan, but if you’re able to grab their attention by producing something remarkable it’s amazing who you end up networking with. Thanks for reading! I’ll make sure to check yours out.

  3. Matt Ulinski April 12, 2011 at 10:30 am #

    Hey Kelley, I still think twitter sucks. I totally understand the utility of it and the social market thing and online presence but what about real life presence? People are obsessed with this shit and think its gonna worse…. but follow me, @mattulinski, JK.

    • kelleyzwong April 12, 2011 at 12:13 pm #

      Matt-
      The reason why I love Twitter is the ease of access to the plethora of informatin Twitter basically hands me. Through following the right people I hardly have to actively search for any kind of interesting information regarding my interests.
      I understand your concern about social media replacing physical human interaction, but I think people who successfully use social media as a marketing medium, for either their business or themselves, are able to maintain a balance and understand the need to interact physically as opposed to soley relying on technology. Social media has simply opened an additional outlet.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lessons in Blogging: Part 2 « More than Words - May 11, 2011

    […] People may not like talking about themselves, but it’s always enjoyable to hear stories.  So many things happen in a day that if I didn’t write them down, it would be a waste.  I love sharing stories, not just about myself but others as well.  Stories engage, connect and intrigue people.  They make you human and relatable.  I always find it easier to write about topics that somehow relate to me because I can’t tell what to do, but I can tell you how I failed, succeeded or learned and hope that you’ll take that into account the next time you have a conversation with a 4-year-old or consider joining Twitter. […]

Leave a Reply

