Craigslist can have my items anytime

21 Apr

In the next couple of months I’m going to be moving (not the BIG move, just into another condo) and needed to get rid of a couple items: sofa couch, futon, dining table, etc.  When I had moved previously I simply donated all of my things I didn’t have room for and was planning on doing the same thing this time.  However I decided to give Craigslist a try because I know people who often purchase sofas and tables from there.  After posting my stuff, I have come to the conclusion that selling items on Craigslist (items, not services as I have no experience in this area) is a fantastic idea.  Within hours of posting I had sold everything and after speaking with the purchaser (Yes, singular.  One person decided to buy all of my stuff) she even wanted to buy things of mine that I didn’t bother posting: wall sconces, end tables, my clothes (yes that was a little peculiar).  She even tried to buy my platform bed, which was NOT for sale. To think, I was going to trash or give away my stuff when there’s an easy way to make a few bucks that doesn’t involve a pawn shop or garage sale.

This is yet another reason why technology is so amazing.  Before the internet I would have had to sell my things via yard sale and I don’t have a yard.  I barely have a patio.  Through Craigslist I was able to connect to people who wanted to buy my used items.  This saves me so much time and energy of having to find a truck to lug my heavy futon to Goodwill or finding space for my dining table.  In addition to the ease of getting rid of my crap, the internet provides me with a way to easily search for jobs.   Whether it is on Craigslist or Indeed.com, without the web I wouldn’t know of a clear way of job hunting other than looking for “Help Wanted” signs.  The internet hasn’t made me lazy; it’s made me more efficient.

So again, I say, “Yes technology has made things easier and no it’s not a bad thing.”

Photo credit: http://bit.ly/hLkv0U

2 Responses to “Craigslist can have my items anytime”

  1. marriagecoach1 April 21, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

    Great post, I did not know that you could sell household items on craig’s list.

    blessings on you and yours
    John Wilder

    • kelleyzwong April 21, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

      Yeah, you can sell all kinds of things: electronics, furniture, cars, books, etc. I’m not sure how often cars are sold, but I know of a lot of college students who often purchase their tables and furniture from craigslist

Leave a Reply

