Room for Four

26 Apr

As mentioned in a previous post, I’m going to be moving into another condo in a couple months with three other people.  Three! That’s three more people squeezed into a single condo than what I currently have to deal with.  In case my writing is too confusing, I currently live alone.  In the beginning it was great.  I could wash or not wash the dishes, watch whatever channel I wanted, and use my blender between 12 am-7am with no problem, but then I got lonely.  I realized that being with others is way more fun than being alone and I wanted company.

Human interaction forces us to become a better version of ourselves.  When there is no one around it doesn’t matter how often I clean or what I choose to eat for breakfast (ice cream) because there was no one there to judge.  I’m isolated from everyone and although I firmly believe I’m my harshest critic this really only applies to tangible results of my hard work.  After living alone for almost 10 months I’ve realized that social interaction is imperative and it’s needed for a healthy mental and emotional state.  Whether it’s dinner with friends or a trip to the grocery store with someone else it’s important to make time to physically be present with others.  In almost a year, I’ve become awkwardly comfortable with having no genuine communication with others (aside from classmates) and I can tell that it’s taking a toll on me.   The lesson here isn’t constantly surrounding yourself with people.  The lesson is make time for people.  Make time to have genuine conversations, real human interaction and authentic exchanges. 

Photo credit: http://bit.ly/epT2bZ

2 Responses to “Room for Four”

  1. Jeremy April 26, 2011 at 12:09 pm #

    Words out of my mouth. I wrote a couple posts like this a while back, but in different directions (and much, much longer).
    If you care to read: http://cushmanschronicles.com/2010/04/23/hello-loneliness/ and http://cushmanschronicles.com/2010/08/25/engaging-people/
    Like I said, they’re a little long, but carry a very similar subject in mind. We need human contact. We need people to be physically present. Thanks for the post!

    • kelleyzwong April 26, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

      Jeremy-
      I’m glad you enjoyed this post. Yes, actualy human interaction is neccessary for us to stay sane. While I am a huge advocate for technology, it can never replace what physical interaction provides.

Leave a Reply

