What’s your cause?

27 Apr

I’m going to be completing a marketing internship this summer at Planned Parenthood and I’m pretty excited about it.  I’ve interned there before and learned a lot. What I learned had a lot to do with marketing, but more about what people are willing to do for the things they care for. I know that the organization isn’t seen in the same light as other non-profit organizations, it’s a polarized topic, but that’s what makes it so rewarding.  Everyday I’m surrounded by people who give a damn about something and that’s a good feeling.  It’s good to know that people are willing to stand by their convictions regardless of the criticisms and it’s refreshing to see women make their voices heard for what they know is right. The women I worked with (I’m sure men work at other offices, but there aren’t any at mine) devote hours upon hours to their cause, and this made me wonder: do we all have a cause we’d fight for? 

I think it’s important to identify what matters to us.  We need to know what we stand for and actually stand up for it.  While words are useful for so many things (i.e.: talking your way out of a speeding ticket), they matter the most when they’re advocating a cause, when they’re used in an effort to better what’s around us.   Not everyone stands up for what’s right or what they believe to be right, so I commend those that do.  Even if I have a difficult time agreeing or flat-out disagree with what you’re supporting at least you’re doing your part for what you believe in and that’s worth something.  So, what do you stand for or not stand for?  What cause do you believe in?

Photo credit: http://bit.ly/iqZp6i

2 Responses to “What’s your cause?”

  1. marriagecoach1 April 28, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

    Kelly
    I believe in pro life and am against killing innocent babies in the womb. To be intellectually honest, since you support abortion then you should also be opposed to the federal law that imparts a $10,000 fine and a five year prison sentence for destroying a bald eagle egg (an unborn baby eagle)

    blessings on you and yours
    Joh Wilder

    • kelleyzwong May 2, 2011 at 11:11 pm #

      I am pro-choice. I believe that people have fundamental rights, one being the right to choose what they want to do with their own bodies. I didn’t write this post to validate my opinion nor did I write it to change anyone’s mind because I have mine made up as I’m sure many have theirs. However in regards to your question, a woman choosing to have an abortion is different than someone destroying a bald eagle egg. That egg is not anyone’s to destroy. A woman’s body is hers to with what she pleases and I believe that it’s better to prevent a pregnancy than to abort one, but I am in full support of everyone having the ability to choose what they want as opposed to forcing them to do something that will change their life irrevocably.
      I’m appreciative of your comments and happy that you believe in what you think is right. However, this is one of those topics where people just have to agree to disagree.

Leave a Reply

