Attitude of Gratitude

29 Apr

One of my best friend’s birthday was on Wednesday and I completely forgot to tell her “happy birthday”.  Needless to say, I felt like a giant a-hole.  Under any normal circumstance I would have felt terrible for forgetting a friend’s special day, but because it was her I felt even worse.  She’s the one that listens to me rant when I’ve exhausted everyone else’s ears, the one that talks me out of doing irrational things to Mr. Kelley when all I can say is “I’m going to kill him”, and she’s the one who isn’t afraid to tell me what I don’t want to hear like, “Kelley, you’re being a psycho.”   So, even though she understands how I got my days mixed up, I’m still left with a feeling of guilt, a feeling that will only be subsided by buying her dinner tonight to show my appreciation for all of our long conversations and countless rides to the airport.

Appreciation is a pretty easy concept. It’s the act of showing gratitude for something or someone, but how often do we exercise this act? I’ll admit that sometimes I’ll absent mindedly take for granted things people do or say.  I sometimes get wrapped up in my own busy schedule and forget that others are just as busy,  if not busier,  than I am yet they’ve taken time out of their limited 24 hours to be kind to me and I brush it off.  It’s an accident, but not excusable.  It’s important show appreciation for compassionate things people do and the kind words people share because what they’re doing isn’t necessary.  They don’t have to help you when you ask, answer the phone when you call, or be there when you need them to be.  They do all of these things for you because you matter to them, reciprocate by showing them the same.

 Photo Credit: http://bit.ly/mwaWPd

2 Responses to “Attitude of Gratitude”

  1. toasty redhead May 28, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

    Thank you for a great post.

  2. online game rentals May 29, 2011 at 4:17 am #

    I never thought of it that way, well put!

Leave a Reply

