Why Cards > Presents

22 Jun

Summer is finally here and there are no words that can describe how ecstatic I am.  My birthday and summer have always gone hand-in-hand, but I love both of these occasions for separate reasons.  Summer brings sunshine, warm weather, longer days, and a really good reason to eat fro-yo (frozen yogurt) all the time. My birthday on the other hand brings birthday cards!  I have always looked forward to cards no matter the occasion, but birthday cards are by far my favorite kind.  I would be lying to say that I don’t love presents (because let’s be honest… what girl doesn’t like presents?), but cards are always the icing on my birthday cake.  I take writing in cards very seriously.  I take time and care when writing in each Hallmark concoction.  Cards have always been special to me.  To me, it’s more than just a necessary attachment to a present.  It’s an opportunity to appreciate the person to whom you’re giving it to.  It’s a chance for the recipient to know exactly how you feel without ever having to say it.  It’s not just a $4 addition to the X amount you paid for the present; it’s a keepsake that in retrospect means more than the actual gift.

Maybe I’m taking it too seriously, but I’ve kept a majority of the cards I’ve received over the past couple years and whenever I need a pick-me-up, that doesn’t involve a pint of Cherry Garcia or a bottle of wine, I know that I’ll feel better after reading my cards.  So the next time you browse the card section of your local grocery store, keep in mind that you might be giving it to a crazy like me who will more than likely read, analyze, and keep it forever.

* You know a card belongs to you when your best friends and boyfriend unknowingly gets you the exact same card… As seen above.

Leave a Reply

