How to: Phone Interviews

2 Aug

I’ve been spending the last half of summer visiting Mr. Kelley in another state. Which means any jobs interviews that I’ve applied for prior to leaving needs to be conducted via telephone. I’ve never been a fan of phone interviews. I know they’re not out of the ordinary, but I’ve never felt very comfortable with them. It’s strange for me to conduct myself the same way I would if the interviewer were sitting across from me, but given how I really have no choice I did my best to hold it together for my interview yesterday. It turned our fairly well, never as good as I would have hoped but no accidental curse words either so I consider it a win.

Interviews are never fun and no matter how many you go on, it never feels as if you’re ever really prepared. Telephone interviews may seem like a much more relaxed version of in-person interviews, but they’re not. You’re still being judged, evaluated and assessed. Here’s what I do to prepare:

Skip the sweats

No need to wear your Sunday best, but try to change out of your pj’s for the duration of the interview. I’ve always felt that the better you look, the better you feel and this will translate through to your interview. You’ll carry yourself better and answer more professionally than if you were chatting with your BFF on a Saturday night.

 

Consider the environment

For me, this is the most important aspect. Whenever I’ve had a phone interview I always set a block of time where I’m isolated in a room. It eliminates any distractions and/or potential interruptions. Being alone in a quiet room allows me to focus on the questions being asked and imitates an environment similar to what it would be if the interview were taking place in front of me.

Can you hear me now?!

Prior to the interview, make sure that wherever you’re planning on being when you receive the call has adequate reception. A landline is ideal, but I know it’s not always feasible. No one likes having a conversation and having to strain to hear, nor is it fun to constantly repeat yourself. It’s frustrating and and a burden to have a conversation where either party is cutting in and out. The last thing you want is to stress out your future employers before you’re even hired.

Photo credits:http://bit.ly/rqcjRV, http://bit.ly/pHxM2v, http://bit.ly/pZd0cQ

Leave a Reply

