Texting isn’t the same as talking

31 Aug

How often do you use your cell phone?  I’m not going to lie, I use mine a lot.  Well, I used to.  Over the past week I’ve definitely dialed down on the phone use and started socializing with people in front of me.  I just never fully realized how often I checked my phone until this week.  It’s astounding how reliant I became on my phone to be my connection with others. It’s actually rather scary.  Texting has been my main means of communication for a really long time, even if I have nothing really important to say I would send a meaningless text.  What is the point of that?  I honestly don’t understand why I felt it was so important for me to constantly be connected to someone. 

I remember a time when I hated texting. I thought it took too long and was pointless because you could simply pick up the same texting phone and call the person you wanted to speak with.  Yet, the busier I got the ease of texting set in and before I knew it I was on my phone non-stop, typing away.  I would choose the type of phone I wanted based on the texting features.  I was worse than a 16-year-old girl.

  So, I started thinking about why I needed constant contact and what it meant to me.  Texting someone never takes the place of seeing them and if what I had to say was really important wouldn’t it be better to just call them? Maybe it’s because I’d rather have a pointless conversation with someone than be left alone with my thoughts or maybe it’s because calling them took too much work.  But for one person in particular, texting them and having them text back was a constant reminder that they were thinking of me.  Every text was a signal that I crossed their mind for a brief nano-second and who doesn’t like to be thought of?  Whatever the reasons are or were for the constant texts, don’t the important people in your life deserve more than just a nano-second of thought?  The next time you have the urge to text a friend or a family member make the time for a phone call instead; it takes up more time, but also means a lot more. 

Photo credit: http://bit.ly/noGN8T

Leave a Reply

